Style Stalking With HayFever

12 June 2012


Tucked away under the watchful eye of the Brecon Beacons you will find the small and very special medieval market town called Hay-on-wye!  Residents wander around the local supermarket barefooted, with daisy chains in their hair. In 1977 Hay was even made independent from England and Wales – meaning there is a King of Hay! The King made this sleepy market town famous when he bought all the commercial property and filled them with books! Yep books! There are 2 antique shops, 1 grocery shop, 3 pubs, 1 butcher, 1 hairdresser and 25 book shops!!!
So honestly where else could you hold a literary festival!



The stylishly hippy chic Grace from the team at Humpty Dumpty Publishing 


"Topsy Turvy Tales" is a hard-back, bespoke, collection of surreal tales in the vein of Edward Gorey and Tim Burton by Charlotte Boulay-Goldsmith and illustrated by Laura Hyde. The stories have already been adapted into award-winning animations featuring the voices of actors Maryam d'Abo and Bill Nighy. 


Mary Portas!


The food tent is one of my favourite areas, stuffed full of organic yumminess! We tucked into fresh crab parcels with homemade red cabbage coleslaw – yum was an understatement!










Currently obsessed with the jewellery brand Delilah Dust - Antonia the designer behind it does the most intricate and beautiful charm friendship bracelets, perfect for the summer. Necklaces are also from her (except the A)


My fashion moment with the legendary Alexandra Shulman (UK Vogue Editor)


25 years ago the first Hay Festival began, with 4000 attendees, this year it attracted over 1.5 million!  People flocked from all over the world to see famous figures talk such as Stephen Fry, Andrew Mar, AA Gill, Ruby Wax, Mary Portas and the legendary Alexandra Shulman.


Hay Festival Style Stalking was not hard to do – I was strictly stalking the hippy style which I feel is so synonymous of Hay-On-Wye, I loved the style of the author of Topsy Turvy Tales, a beautifully illustrated children's book. Her jacket caught my eye straight away! That day I saw some of fashions legends, Mary Portas spoke about her battle to rebuild the high street, while Alexandra Shulman talked about her new book ‘Can We Still Be Friends’ a story of three girls growing up together in the 1980s.

The Hay festival is on for roughly 2 weeks; I managed to escape the big city for just the weekend, so tomorrow I will give you a glimpse of more hippy chic style stalking!!

I wore to day one of the festival: Wax Jacket; Barbour- a Hay staple! Top; Mango. Denim cut off shorts; vintage. Wellies; Hunter. Jewellery; mostly all Delilah Dust. 


6 comments

  1. This looks amazing! Hope you had a fab time :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Stunning photographs! Very jealous you got to meet the editor of vogue! lucky you!

    ReplyDelete
  3. ohh I love your stars jacket and your bracelets! looks like you had a great time

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, yeh it's an extrememly cool/hippy festival! I'm addicted to it!x

      Delete
  4. photo with Ms Alexandra is great! frame it x

    ReplyDelete
  5. I love those floral pitchers! So cute. Adorable outfit, too! x

    thissideoftheatlantic.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete

I adore all your comments!

Massive Style Stalker Love

SSSx

Copyright © Stories
Design by Fearne